FAQFAQ      RegisterRegisterLog inLog in

BREEDING FORUM >> Native Dancer
TOPOFTHEHILL

Posted: Wed Oct 21, 2020 18:59 pm

A big strong Grey horse who is an outcross within 5 generations (his sire Polynesian is 4 x 5 Polymelus. Obviously I have no first hand experience of him but I know a few people who did and they described him as being rather upright in his pasterns which were short and with far from perfect fetlock joints. From photographs I have his shoulder seemed to be upright too and pretty much in sync with his pasterns. So at least he was matched up in front. Since he ran 22 times and was only beaten once in the Kentucky Derby, he was second, he must have been sound or managed by a genius of a trainer.
I have watched as many clips of his races as I could find and although the picture quality makes serious analysis of his action difficult he seemed to be a long striding horse with a bit of a high knee action. in his ‘derby’ he was messed with early on and dropped too far back off a slow pace. He very nearly caught the winner with a powerful run in the straight. He was unlucky and should have been a Triple Crown winner.
His stride can only be a product of his powerful hind quarters as you would expect the upright pastern/shoulder to have limited the freedom of movement in front. His hind leg was nice and straight.
His pedigree is enormously complex on one level or remarkably simple on another. His sire is Polynesian by Unbreakable by Sickle out of Selene. Sickle is of course a half brother to Hyperion. Northern Dancer and Native dancer are both from the all dominant Phalaris sire line.