FAQFAQ      RegisterRegisterLog inLog in

RACING FORUM >> Francesca Cumani's take on Melbourne Cup
Torquil

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 21:50 pm

Don't be so insecure over Melbourne Cup
• by: Francesca Cumani
• October 28, 2011 12:00AM
AUSTRALIA should stop seeking endorsement from overseas for the Melbourne Cup.
I have been coming here for five years and it continues to surprise me that locals need their great race authenticated or approved by foreigners.
I don't think my Dad (Luca) or Dermot Weld or Frankie Dettori saying the Melbourne Cup is a great race makes it any better than it already is.
A personal bugbear is the fascination with getting mainly celebrities with no connection to racing to appear for half an hour, under-dressed and uninterested in the sport.
By doing that, I think it shows an insecurity in a race, an event, a carnival which is like no other. It is the rest of the world that has much to learn from how Australia presents racing - not the other way around.
The continual talk about capping the number of international horses in the Cup is ridiculous.

Surely everyone wants the Cup to be the best race it can possibly be, and for that to happen we need the best 24 two-miler (3200m) horses to line up. If they happen to be 90 per cent horses bred in Europe then so be it.
If half the field is trained by overseas trainers, who cares? Wouldn't it be worse if the international raiders were not coming?
The race that stops a nation would be reduced to the wealthy stables with their million-dollar imports versus local breds that end up as stayers because they don't have the speed for sprinting.
If the view is that there are not enough locals in the field, then it's time to improve local breeding and incentives for stayers, or buy stayers from abroad.